Skip to content


ANTS OF THE PRAIRIE is an architecture and research practice that is dedicated to developing creative approaches in confronting the pleasures and horrors of our contemporary ecologies.

Joyce Hwang, AIA, NCARB, received a post-professional Master of Architecture degree from Princeton University and a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Cornell University, where she was awarded the Charles Goodwin Sands Memorial Bronze Medal. Since 1997, she has practiced professionally with offices in San Francisco, New York, Philadelphia, and Barcelona, Spain. Hwang is a Registered Architect in New York State and an Associate Professor of Architecture at University at Buffalo, SUNY. She is a recipient of the Architectural League Emerging Voices Award (2014), the New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) Fellowship (2013), the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA) Independent Project Grant (2013, 2008), and the MacDowell Colony Fellowship (2016, 2011).

Collaborative Partners: Rafael Herrin-Ferri (Cyborg City Competition, 1999); David Allin (various projects, 2003, 2004); Milenko Ivanovic (Chicago Prize Competition, 2005); Stephanie Vito (Regional Zoo, 2007); Martha Bohm and Gabrielle Printz (Beyond Patronage, 2012-2015); Andrea Frank, Emily Puthoff, Jeff Freedman (FeedBack Lab, 2015-16); Quilian Riano, Annie Barrett, Adeola Enigbokan, Sukjong Hong, Greg Mihalko, with Van Alen Institute and National Park Service (Performing Parks, 2015-16); Ellen Driscoll, Matthew Hume, with Mary Miss/City as Living Laboratory and ArtPark (Bower, 2016).

Current Collaborators: Olivia Arcara, John Costello, John Wightman

Former Collaborators: Matt Bain, Kate Barbaria, John Brennan, Heeyun Byun, Patricia Castellon, Loke Chan, Albert Chao, Juan Andres De Risio, Dan Dimillo, Han Du, Paul Dudkowski, Mark Faulkner, Joshua Gardner, Thomas Giannino, Molly Hogle, Laurice Hwang, Michael Kirschner, Khelly Koomalsingh, Puichee Isabella Lee, Sze Wan Li, Ian Liu, Shawn Lewis, Alexandra Lima, Matt Maleike, Alan Massey, Nicole Marple, Kenzie McNamara, Michelle Muhlbauer, David Nardozzi, Nellie Niespodzinski, Mark Nowaczyk, Alex Poklinkowski, Michael Pudlewski, John Reinard, Andres Santandreu Natale, Matt Salzer, John Scherer, Laura Schmitz, Lisa Stertz, Joey Swerdlin, Dustin Tobias, Trenton Van Epps, Stephanie Vito, Duane Warren, Mikaila Waters, Jake West, Angela Wu, Robert Yoos, Kelly Zona

Consultants: Katharina Dittmar (Biology), Heather Williams (Biology), Mark Bajorek (Structures)